Check out all the anniversary logos for 2015-16!

Every year it's becoming more and more common to see teams across the hockey universe marketing special anniversary seasons with special logos. Designs run the gamut from clever to pathetic and this season is no different.

If you're here in the States, I hope you're enjoying your Thanksgiving. If you're Canadian, well, happy Thursday. Now settle in and let's review all the anniversary logos being used in the NHL, AHL, ECHL and CHL in the 2015-16 season.


San Jose Sharks · Founded in 1991 as an expansion team. The Sharks have several alternate versions of this logo, but this is the primary.

Colorado Avalanche · Relocated from Quebec (Nordiques) in 1995. The Avalanche are wearing on their jerseys an alternate version of this logo without the "A" logo at the top.

Minnesota Wild · Founded in 2000 as an expansion team.


American Hockey League · Established in 1936.

Rochester Americans · Founded in 1956 as an expansion team.

Grand Rapids Griffins · Founded in 1996 as an expansion team in the International Hockey League. The franchise joined the AHL in 2001.

Bridgeport Sound Tigers · Founded in 2001 as an expansion team.

San Diego Gulls · Relocated from Norfolk (Admirals) in 2015. It may not be an "anniversary" logo per se, but it's a special mark designed to commemorate and celebrate a particular season — their first in the AHL.


Reading Royals · Relocated from Columbus (Chill) and re-established in 2001.

Orlando Solar Bears · Founded in 1995 as an expansion team in the International Hockey League. Shut down in 2001. Re-established in 2012 as an expansion team in the ECHL. The logo marks the 10th season (non-consecutive) of Solar Bears hockey.


Western Hockey League · Established in 1966 as the Canadian Major Junior Hockey League. Renamed Western Hockey League in 1978.

Portland Winterhawks · Relocated from Edmonton (Oil Kings) in 1976.

Swift Current Broncos · Relocated from Lethbridge (Broncos) in 1986. The 30th anniversary logo was designed by former player Taylor Vause, according to the Broncos.

Kelowna Rockets · Founded in 1991 as the Tacoma Rockets. Relocated in 1995. The team is wearing throwback jerseys in honor of its 25th anniversary season.

Vancouver Giants · Founded in 2001 as an expansion team.


Rouyn-Noranda Huskies · Relocated from Saint-Hyacinthe (Laser) in 1996.

Moncton Wildcats · Founded in 1995 as the Moncton Alpines. Renamed Wildcats in 1996.


Guelph Storm · Relocated from Hamilton (Dukes) in 1991.

Erie Otters · Relocated from Niagara Falls (Thunder) in 1996.

That's a big collection of logos. But next year could bring even more — particularly in the NHL. The league will celebrate its centennial along with the Toronto Maple Leafs in 2016-17. The Kings, Flyers, Penguins and Blues all hit 50. The Lightning and Senators celebrate 25 years. And the Hurricanes mark two decades since leaving Hartford.

And by the way, Icethetics itself turns 10 during next season's Stanley Cup Playoffs in May 2017!